20 states including Michigan are kicking off 2017 with a minimum wage increase!
Michigan workers who make the minimum wage are getting a 40-cents-an-hour raise.
The state hourly minimum rises from $8.50 to $8.90 on Sunday. It’s the second straight yearly increase under a 2014 law that gradually raised the wage by 25 percent.
The 40-cent increase means those working full time will earn $16 more a week, or $832 a year. Many making the minimum wage work part time and tend to be younger.
Other states receiving the pay wage hike include Massachusetts, Arkansas, Ohio, California and more.