0 reads
Leave a comment

Source: Freep.com

Kem’s musical benefit for Detroit’s homeless will have a spacious new riverside site.

Still dubbed Mack & Third: A Call to Service, the event will move to the new West Riverwalk Park downtown after three editions at Cass Park in Midtown Detroit.

This year’s festival, which will include performances by Kem and the O’Jays, is scheduled for Aug. 24, two days before the release of the romantic R&B star’s fourth Motown album, “Promise to Love.”

Kem, who overcame addiction and homelessness in the 1990s, founded Mack & Third in 2009 to generate money, resources and awareness benefiting Detroit’s homeless community. The events have drawn tens of thousands of supporters for music, comedians and family activities.

Mack & Third has also provided hot meals and health screenings to thousands of homeless people while gathering hundreds of thousands of donated canned goods.

The new West Riverwalk Park — at 1801 W. Jefferson, near the Riverfront Towers Apartments — is the latest stage in the ongoing development project overseen by the Detroit RiverFront Conservancy.

Previous Mack & Third festivals offered free admission; this year’s will have a $5 entry fee, with proceeds going to area homeless groups. Attendees are still encouraged to bring canned goods for donation.

Admission is free for children 15 and under, and premium packages are available for $50. Tickets can be purchased at www.brownpapertickets.com.

More fest details: www.facebook.com/mackandthird.

Kem’s camp is also set to announce full details for the Aug. 26 release of “Promise to Love,” follow-up to 2010’s “Intimacy: Album III,” which debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard 200. The new record will include collaborations with Snoop Dogg and Ronald Isley, and the lead single “It’s You” has already hit radio.

The full track list:

1. “Saving My Love For You”

2. “Promise To Love”

3. “Downtown” (ft. Snoop Dogg)

4. “Beautiful World”

5. “Do What You Gotta Do”

6. “Say Something Real”

7. “My Favorite Thing” (ft. Ronald Isley)

8. “It’s You”

9. “The Soft Side Of Love”

10. “Nobody”

11. “Pray For Me”

comments – Add Yours